Selby edition [change]

Member of Parliament

Published 8 years ago | Updated 6 years ago

Parliament was dissolved as of 00:01 BST on May 3rd, 2017. As a result, there is currently no sitting MP for the Parliamentary seat of Selby & Ainsty – or any other seat.

The position is vacant until after the general election takes place on July 8th.

The following information should be considered archive material and will be updated following the outcome of the forthcoming poll.


The current Member of Parliament for the Selby & Ainsty seat is Nigel Adams MP.

He has represented the constituency as a member of the Conservative Party since he was elected in May 2010.

Though born in Goole, Adams was raised in Selby, attending Camblesforth Primary School and later Selby High School.

Following his entry into politics, Adams stood for election in 2005 where he contested the marginal Rossendale and Darwen seat for the Conservatives. He lost the election, polling second with a swing to the Conservatives of just 1.9%. This compares with an average swing of 3.1% across the UK.

In 2006 he was selected to stand as a candidate for the newly created Selby & Ainsty seat.

Whereas the town's former Selby constituency seat had become a Labour marginal seat, Selby & Ainsty, with its parishes from the rural and affluent areas of the Borough of Harrogate, was now considered to be a safe Tory seat.

He won the seat at the 2010 General Election with a 24% majority and was subsequently returned to parliament in 2015 with an increased majority of 26%.


Voting record

It has been noted that Mr Adams, generally speaking, votes in accordance with his party's whips office instructions.

Voting against his party in only 7 times out from a total of 1,239 votes (he voted in 977 of those) during his first term in office, Adams is one of the least rebellious members in the House of Commons.


Contacting Mr Adams

Nigel Adams MP maintains a constituency office in Tadcaster and can also be reached at his Parliamentary office in Westminster. Contact details as follows:

Tadcaster Office • 17 High Street, Tadcaster, LS24 9AP.
Tel: 01937 838 088

Westminster Office • House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA.
Tel: 020 7219 7141 • Fax: 020 7219 3992
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Mr Adams does not maintain an office in Selby itself.



Social media…





RSS Feed
More like this